2016-17 Turkish Airlines Euroleague, Eurocup team lists unveiled 27  june  2016

A total of 40 clubs from 13 countries were proposed by the Euroleague Commercial Assets A-Licence Shareholder Clubs on Monday to compete in the two most elite competitions in European club basketball, the Turkish Airlines Euroleague and the Eurocup, for the upcoming 2016-17 season.
The Euroleague will feature 16 teams from nine countries, including the champions of eight domestic leagues. The list is headed by current champion CSKA Moscow and includes seven more clubs that have won the title: FC Barcelona Lassa, Maccabi FOX Tel Aviv, Olympiacos Piraeus, Panathinaikos Athens, Real Madrid, EA7 Emporio Armani Milan and Zalgiris Kaunas.

The 16 Euroleague clubs will be the standard-bearers of a historic transition to a new competition format that features all teams playing each other twice in a round-robin format, a first in international club competitions in Europe. Eight survivors after 30 regular season games will advance to the best-of-five playoffs, whose four winners will qualify for the Final Four to decide the continental champion.

Here are the 2016-17 Turkish Airlines Euroleague clubs:

Team Country
Anadolu Efes Istanbul Turkey
Brose Bamberg Germany
Crvena Zvezda Telekom Belgrade Serbia
CSKA Moscow Russia
Darussafaka Dogus Istanbul (Wildcard) Turkey
EA7 Emporio Armani Milan Italy
FC Barcelona Lassa Spain
Fenerbahce Istanbul Turkey
Galatasaray Odeabank Istanbul* Turkey
Laboral Kutxa Vitoria Gasteiz Spain
Maccabi FOX Tel Aviv Israel
Olympiacos Piraeus Greece
Panathinaikos Athens Greece
Real Madrid Spain
Unics Kazan Russia
Zalgiris Kaunas Lithuania
*Galatasaray's participation is dependent upon completion of the necessary registration requirements and documentation review by the Management Control Commission.

The full 2016-17 Turkish Airlines Euroleague Regular Season calendar will be made public at the beginning of July 2016.

Also on Monday, a list of 24 teams to play in the 2016-17 Eurocup Regular Season was approved. The team list features teams from a total of 12 countries as the Eurocup retains the wide reach that has made it such a popular competition throughout the continent.

The field will feature five former Eurocup champions: Valencia Basket (2003, 2010 and 2014), Hapoel Bank Yahav Jerusalem (2004), Lietuvos Rytas Vilnius (2005, 2009, Khimki Moscow Region (2012, 2015) and Lokomotiv Kuban Krasnodar (2013) and a total of 17 former Euroleague participants.

The teams will be divided into four groups of six teams each playing 10 round-robin games starting in October. The best four teams in each regular season group will advance to the Top 16, which will consist of four groups of four teams, which will play six round-robin games beginning in early January 2017. From there, the quarterfinals, semifinals and finals – each consisting of best-of-three playoff series– will be played in order to decide the 2017 Eurocup Champion, who in turn will qualify for the 2017-18 Turkish Airlines Euroleague.

Here are the 2016-17 Eurocup clubs:

Team Country
AEK Athens Greece
ALBA Berlin Germany
Buducnost VOLI Podgorica ABA League
Cedevita Zagreb ABA League
Dinamo Banco di Sardegna Sassari Italy
Dolomiti Energia Trento Italy
Dominion Bilbao Basket (Wild card) Spain
FC Bayern Munich Germany
FoxTown Cantu (Wild card) Italy
Grissin Bon Reggio Emilia Italy
Hapoel Bank Yahav Jerusalem Israel
Herbalife Gran Canaria Las Palmas Spain
Khimki Moscow Region Russia
Lietuvos Rytas Vilnius Lithuania
Lokomotiv Kuban Krasnodar Russia
Nizhny Novgorod (Wild card) Russia
Partizan NIS Belgrade ABA League
ratiopharm Ulm Germany
Stelmet Zielona Gora Poland
UCAM Murcia Spain
Unicaja Malaga Spain
Union Olimpija Ljubljana (Wild card) ABA League
Valencia Basket Spain
Zenit St Petersburg Russia
The group also reviewed other topics including ECA’s governance structure, the 2016-17 Bylaws, economic distribution criteria, as well as ticketing incentives for the competition.

The 2016-17 Eurocup Draw will take place on Thursday, July 7 in Barcelona, Spain.
Source http://www.euroleague.net/news/i/73cnyqfti74nsxhn/2016-17...