Mariupol welcomes its Russian guests12 january 2011

On Wednesday at its own court the Ukrainian champion BC Azovmash within the bounds of VTB United League 7th round will play with BC Khimki. The beginning of the meeting is at 19:00 Moscow time.


Vadim Panin, BC Khimki forward:

— Azovmash is a good team that has claims to the United League VTB Final Four entrance. Undoubtedly, the game will be tough. Fans' support is a great factor for each team that playes at home. Our aim is to keep up the game's plan and play at our full potential. In that case we'll manage to improve our position in the group.

Oleg Meleschenko, BC Khimki acting head coach:

— We'll play with one of the leaders of Ukrainian basketball. Azovmash's participation in Eurocups is a confirmation to my words. The players are experienced, they show smart and qualitative game. If you want me to name the Azovmash leaders I'll have to list practically all the roster. Rapid and aggressive basketball and the stands' support will provide interesting and breathtaking struggle.


Azovmash Mariupol

Founded: 1990
Arena: Azovmash Arena (capacity: 3,000)
Location: Mariupol, Ukraine
Team colors: Blue and White
President: Oleksandr Savchuk
Acting head coach: Rolandas Jarutis
Ukrainian Championships: (7) 2003-2004, 2006-2010
Ukrainian Cups: (5) 2001-2002, 2006, 2008-2009
Azovmash Cups: (6) 2003-2008


After 6 games BC Azovmash along with Zalgiris Kaunas ranks second in the group B (4 wins and 2 losses). On October, 2010 BC Khimki already played with BC Azovmash and beat the Ukrainians 65-58.

10.10.2010 BC Azovmash — Asseco Prokom — 80-76
31.10.2010 BC Khimki — BC Azovmash — 65-58
12.11.2010 VEF-Riga — BC Azovmash — 68-60
02.12.2010 Kalev — BC Azovmash — 67-72
11.12.2010 BC Azovmash — Zalgiris — 75-63
05.01.2011 Asseco Prokom — BC Azovmash — 76-85


№  PlayerPositionHeight  Birthday
4Demetrius Alexander F2041975
6Ramel Curry G1911980
7Frederick HouseG1931978
8Oleksandr SkutelnikG1921977
9Vyacheslav BobrovF2011992
14Maxim PustozvonovF2001987
20Drago PasalicC2081984
21Bogdan BaydaG1931989
24Christopher OwensF2041979
25Maksym IvshynF2101986
32Charles ThomasF2031986
50Daniel McClintockC  2121977