The Final Four of VTB United League will be held in Kazan28 march 2011

The Directorate of VTB United League has made a decision on the venue for the «Final four» of this season. At a meeting of the Council of the League it was officially announced that the finals will be held on April 22-23, 2011 in Kazan, at the home arena of the Russian club UNICS – the «Basket-hall».

There were also announced the following decisions:

The vice Premier Minister of the government Sergey Ivanov was elected the President of VTB United League.

It was also decided to include into the composition of VTB United League four new clubs. In season-2011/12 the Russian Lokomotiv-Kuban (Krasnodar), Spartak (St. Petersburg), the Czech Nymburk and BC Astana from Kazakhstan will take part in the tournament.

Thus, the League Council approved the extension of competition format and increasing the number of participants up to 16 teams. It is planned that at the preliminary stage the participants will be divided into two groups and will conduct a 2-round tournament. The group winners will go directly to the «Final four», and the remaining two tickets to a decisive round will be played in the playoffs (in 1/8 and 1/4 finals up to two victories ) between the teams which take 2-4-th places in their groups.