Rimas Kurtinaitis is the best in Eurocup ten-year history21 june 2012

Celebrating 10 years of Eurocup basketball, Eurocupbasketball.com has compiled its very own Top 10 coaches list to honor the best of the men in suits that have manned the sidelines as the Eurocup has become more and more demanding. Number one in the list is Rimas Kurtinaitis.

As the only man to lead two teams to the competition’s peak twice, Coach Rimas Kurtinaitis has been the king of Eurocup coaches this decade. Kurtinaitis started his Eurocup career with Asco Slask Wroclaw, which he led to the 2007-08 elimination rounds. The next season, Kurtinaitis guided Lietuvos Rytas to its second Eurocup title in spectacular fashion. A wild fourth-quarter rally saw Rytas to overtake BC Khimki 80-74 in the final. Kurtinaitis won despite a limited rotation, in part due to his insightful decision to use Chuck Eidson as point guard. Rytas won the title and Eidson was chosen as the 2008-09 MVP. After a short stay with VEF Riga, Kurtinaitis led BC Khimki to the Eurocup title last season. His team handled the pressure of being the favorite with poise and determination. Khimki topped Valencia Basket 77-68 in the title game and Kurtinaitis got the chance to lift the Eurocup trophy for the second time.

Best Eurocup coaches (2003-2012) (version Eurocupbasketball.com)

1. Rimas Kurtinaitis
2. Neven Spahija
3. Joan Plaza
4. Aito Garcia Reneses
5. Sharon Drucker
6. Dusan Ivkovic
7. Evgeny Pashutin
8. Aleksandar Petrovic
9. Oktay Mahmuti
10. Pedro Martinez